So I took a cool class at the Nov. 2010 RUSH session, taught by HL Paul Adler, about pewter casting using a modification of the sand casting techniques that are known in period, and a special, finely ground, material called Delft Clay.

He had a neat set-up, including larger frames than pictured and during the afternoon, we went through the whole process of casting.  I did several items.

8753_original1st – I cast pewter duplicates of my “ID tags” on my apprentice belt – since I plan to make some other styles of belt that will properly accessorize with other styles of outfits.  (2016 – never got those other belts done, so I have them available for my own apprentices.) The originals were made using brass and a repousse technique, by my laurel, Master Alan of Darkdale.
2nd – I allowed Giraude to cast a duplicate of my Golden Calon Swan (AoA level Arts award) pendant, which also was repousse by Master Alan.

Giraude also made a copy of a plastic button, and I think a few other items were made by other class members.  For all of these, Ld. Paul was manning the casting set-up, and was mostly handling the packing of the clay, the pouring, etc. Understandable, as he wanted people to be successful. I may have hip checked him a tiny bit to let me succeed or fail on my own.

9359_originalBecause finally, I took my 10th C Byzantine cross, an actual artefact, and did all the steps except actually pouring myself, to cast a duplicate. (The pot he had to melt the pewter was large, and weighed more than I could easily handle at shoulder height.) You can see that the level of detail is quite nice.The shine of the pewter is makes some of the detail less visible, but the Delft clay worked really well.

This was a gift for Konstantia Kaloethina, as part of an exchange. I’m curious if this cross ended up with the same wandering spirit. My original periodically goes wandering, and then reappears in unexpected places. You could blame the kids, except half the time when I come across it, the cross is in a place no kid could access.

Save

Save

