img_1998[26 Apr 2010] This “work-box” from Finglesham grave 8, was my main inspiration for this project. The body in that grave is described as female, about 25-30 years old. The repousse was very simple, just a pattern of dots, but then I had to bend it, make rivets out of wire, rivet it into a tube, and then solder the top & bottom on.  This is my first time soldering, and it isn’t really pretty.  I still need to add a way to suspend this, as well as connect the top and bottom. There are a few options in the artefact records, so I’m still thinking about it.  Finally, I need to file off the rough edges, soak it in “pickle” and polish it up.

ugly soldering[26 Oct 2016] I didn’t quite get the proportion of height to width correct, it appears. as well, I still haven’t added a hinge suspension system. I really am not satisfied with the craftsmanship, and probably will just make one or more new ones.

Here’s an example of one of the artefacts I used as a model,  from the British Museum.

an00472606_001_l
Museum number – 1879,1223.1 Description – Bronze “work-box” with detachable lid, dotted repoussé herring-bone on drum & cross on lid with pellets; cross & 2 rings on base.

Photo © Trustees of the British Museum.

Additional examples from the Novum Inventorium SepulchraleSilbertswold Grave 60 and Kingston Down Grave 96. (You will need to accept the terms of use before clicking through to these drawings of the workboxes.)

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

