So, I’m trying to figure out, for my self and for Gerald, exactly how to document and cite various topics.

MLA is one standard often taught in schools – published by the Modern Languages Association, it’s more for literary works.

APA is another – American Psychological Association – again, often used for works in that field.

So I decided, perhaps I should go looking for what archaeological departments and journals want, since my main focus is on Material Culture – the artefacts of dress and adornment.

I found a few schools that required Harvard Style for their archaeology students http://www.brad.ac.uk/library/documents/refeng.pdf

However, I believe Harvard style uses “in-text” citations. I don’t really like that. I prefer footnotes, especially when the topic is one with many wandering sidetracks. (for example, browse De Re Metallica, translated by the Hoovers – tons of footnotes with discussion, and no silly flipping back and forth for endnotes.)

I’m not the only one who prefers footnotes. http://togs-from-bogs.blogspot.com/2009/12/footnotes-vs-endnotes-poll-result.html I realize endnotes are easier for a publisher, but I’m not likely to be published, so I’d rather be more explanatory.

So, I continue my quest. Searching for “archaeology journal submission guidelines footnote” on Google found me the American Journal of Archaeology – which may be sort of a standard.

They suggest in-text citations be used only for “primary ancient sources”. For my purposes, that would mean sources pre-1700, that are useful for SCA research. Examples of authors are Theophilus, Columella, and Digby.

In the AJA website, they have guidelines for Bibliographic references and footnotes http://www.ajaonline.org/index.php?ptype=page&pid=5
Citing Electronic Sources http://www.ajaonline.org/index.php?ptype=page&pid=6
and General Matters of Style http://www.ajaonline.org/index.php?ptype=page&pid=4

I will NOT use the AJA list of accepted abbreviations, as I don’t believe that would help people find the resources.

For futher guidance, the AJA suggest consulting the Chicago manual of Style,http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html and the Columbia Guide to Online Style http://cup.columbia.edu/book/978-0-231-13210-7/the-columbia-guide-to-online-style

Now it appears that using the Chicago style, with footnotes, is what will work best for me and my preferences. It also happens that a very helpful aide is available, if I use Chicago style.

http://www.worldcat.org is a collective online catalog of books in libraries all over the world. You can search by author, title, subject, keyword, ISBN, etc. Journal articles are also separately referenced, sometimes. And once you find a result, and click on the search result you want, you will find a page that offers you lots of information about the book. It will give you the page count, the closest libraries that hold the book, where you can buy the book, reviews (if available) and my favorite, (in this context) the “Cite/Export” button, above and to the right of the title. Click on it, and a drop-down box will appear, offering to give you the citation in APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA and Turabian style or export it to RefWorks or Endnote.

Choose your preference (Chicago in this example) and a pop-up box will appear with your citation formatted for you, ready for cut and paste.

Now, for my purposes, and so that my documentation can be more useful for others, I’m going to add several items to the Chicago standard, in my bibliography.

ISBN if a printed work
Where accessed – do I own it, or which library, or who did I borrow it from. College & grad students have reference librarians to help them find resources, but SCAdians don’t necessarily have that advantage. If it’s from a library, I’ll include the Dewey Decimal or Library of Congress number. I might even, to ease my way when I want to view this source again, note what floor or section of the library it’s on.
When accessed – especially important for electronic sources, it may be helpful for my personal research memory as well.

And the last important note – most bibliographic styles require the original document be cited – like the printed journal article. But many times, the way I find the journal article is online. Thus, I will use the proper citation forms for the online source, AFTER I list the original source details.

Also, I’ve found an online style guide, which uses the Chicago manual of style as a basis (although it prefers in-text citations) by the American Anthropological Association. http://www.aaanet.org/publications/guidelines.cfm This is a pretty extensive reference, with some good examples.

Another thought – The online style guide says cite the introductory page of the website. For artefacts or images found with searching, and not including stable URLs, I think including how to track back to the information.

I suppose I will do my additions as sort of an annotated bibliography.

I’d like to note, the Rich Text button isn’t working – so I can’t insert a cut, or do most of the stuff I normally do. It sort of bugs me.

