So, I happened across some interesting wire weaving type “posaments” at www.silberknoten.de via Medieval Silkwork.  In one of the pages, it references the “fantastic online catalogue with pictures” of the museum in Stockholm.

So off I go, to seek out said museum and it’s wonders.  This is the homepage of the Historiska Museet in Swedish, while here is the homepage in English.  Notice anything?  Yes, the Swedish page includes more stuff.     This is not the first time I’ve found the English pages provided by the institution with less options and information that the original language. So, I decide to tough it out, and use Google toolbar translate function to help figure out where to look and find anything.  (Have I ever mentioned that the Google toolbar translate tool is really useful?)

So, I’m wandering around, and first I try to “search the collections” or if you don’t have the translate function “sok i samlingarna”.  I get a bunch of choices.  I try a few, including the inventory (inventarienummer).    It allows you to search by a number of details, including location and dating, but no where in that search form is there a place for material or object type.  Which makes it hard if I want to find glass beads, or those little silver posaments.

So I back up, and try the Birka graves (birkagravar) link.  I randomly select a section of graves, and start browsing thru it, and lo and behold, I find one of those posaments.  Man, that’s tiny.  Also of interest, a bit of trichinopoly (as we call it).

It appears you can search, by “what” in the exhibited objects.  I haven’t gone looking there yet.  But “sakord” is the word for the type of object.

However, what may be the most useful, is the Beta version of “Explore Collections”  It utilizes frames, and on the left-hand side, an outline/tree structure.  You click on a word to see more choices, and eventually you will get artefact details to pop up in the larger right-hand frame.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to allow Google translate to work with the tree, although it will translate the artefact info.

So, to help me remember

“Vad” seems to be “What”
“När” looks to be related to “When”
“Var”  seems to be “Where”
“Fyndkategori” even without translation help, seems to be “Find Category”
Without trying to translate, I also see Religion, Monuments & transport as sub-categories
“Dräkt och personlig utrustning” is “Dress & personal accessories”

“Hantverk och redskap” is “crafts and gear”  If you click the + sign you’ll get “Sakord” (object) and “Material” (some things don’t need translation.)  Under Material you can find silver/silver, bronze/brons, gold/guld, textile/textil, glass/glas, tin/tenn.  Just take a look, and I think you can guess for some of them.

Under “Sakord” you may have to experiment, although some are easier.
“pärla” is bead or pearl
“tråd” is wire
“Knapp” – appears to be button or knob

Anyway, the end result is, I do agree that there are some really cool images available on the Swedish Historical Museum’s website.  And now that I’ve written this post, I won’t forget what I learned

Save

Save

