Ok, I’ve been thinking about Kingdom A&S.  If i only enter the tri-levels, it isn’t as hard to choose one category.  However, if I want to make my interest in accessories “shout” (as Jehanne put it), I need some way to enter accessory design.
(For my Out-of-Kingdom readers, Calontir’s A&S championship requires 3 entries, which need to be different skill sets, not all in one category.)

Specifically, either 6th Cent Eastern Kent – around Finglesham, or Gipewic (Ipswich) about the year 600 (design I worked on for Dorcas.)  But I’ve got lots of specific times & places I want to explore eventually.

Now, clothing design requires “Entry must include color rendering of outfit drawn on a figure and descriptions of all pieces of costume, with additional materials (detail sketches, swatches, patterns, etc.) at entrant’s discretion. Artistic quality of figure drawn (i.e., hands, face, etc.) will not be judged, but depiction of outfit should be clear and accurate, and will be judged .” but accessories are only very briefly mentioned – under the 1-5 points for workmanship.

*Embellishments and accessories: completely discussed and depicted?

*Period styling or personalization or special embellishment

I don’t really want to get into pattern construction quite as much – there’s precious little available for the 5th to 8th century, and thus, it would be really hard to follow my goal all sources within 50 years and 50 miles.

However, clothing accessory is just one item “Entry should consist of an item that is meant to accompany a costume but is not essential to the costume’s existence. Possible accessories include a pair of shoes, stockings, ruffs, cuffs, headgear, gloves, bags, belts, scabbards, underwear, made or constructed jewelry, etc. Weapons should be entered in the Weaponry category. Individual components may be entered in appropriate categories (Metalwork, Embroidery, etc.). Entrant must specify source of any patterns, templates, etc. used. “

Clothing is again, more about the clothes rather than the bling “Clothing is to be a complete outfit. It is strongly suggested that judges view the clothing both on and off a person, to examine it fully. “

Glasswork and Metalwork would be ways to enter specific items, but I can’t enter 3 metal items, even if the outfit requires half-a-dozen metal accessories.  I’d obviously choose my best item to enter in either of these categories.

I could go with MiscellaneousThis category includes non-performance entries in any media not covered by other criteria. This criteria applies to finished items only; crafts involving only the preparation of materials for other uses (e.g. paintmaking, tanning, papermaking) should be entered in Material Preparation. As generic criteria, this set reflects the standards used in all non-performance criteria. “  But my understanding is that it can be harder to get the best scores with a very generic category.  However this may be the best place.

For an out-of-the-ordinary method, I could go with Writing.  “Includes plays, fictional prose, and period non-fiction forms (history, biography, philosophy, how-to treatises, bestiaries, travelogues, etc.). Entries must be typed. Limit 15 pages; if work is longer, entrants may submit a section of up to 15 pages for judging and summarize rest. “  And I probably will use this method for documenting accessory design for the late period times/places, which more closely relates to when period writing about what people were wearing was more detailed.

I don’t think that I’m quite ready for doing a research paper.   “Entry is a modern scholarly paper on any aspect of medieval studies. Entries must be typed, in modern essay format, with bibliography, notes, etc., as needed. Works in medieval writing style and works of fiction should be entered in Prose and Playwriting. Historical “summary” research (Ex. a synopsis of the Battle of Agincourt, a biography of Charlemagne) will be accepted, but best scores will be given to original thesis or synthesis papers whose findings apply directly to medieval re-creation (Ex. use of tactical maneuvers in the Battle of Agincourt; the effects of Charlemagne’s political influence on calligraphic style). NOTE: Unlike other categories, which encourage the production of artifacts suitable to medieval standards, Research Papers seeks entries within a mundane context. Criteria areas have thus been modified accordingly. ”

I guess I haven’t seen any research papers that are similar to what I want to do, and I’m not sure how I’d present it.

