For the past few years, my hardcore SCA activity has been searching the internet to answer a multitude of questions.  I like to know more about cool artefacts from period.  There were many days (nights really) where I tended toddlers during the day, and wandered the web from 10pm to 4am.

Lately, I’ve been slacking off.  But today I tried out a new web search vehicle, touted on Yahoo news, and started by former Google geeks.   http://www.cuil.com   I found a review of an online database for Kentish Anglo-Saxon Graves and Grave Goods.  and then followed the link to the database.   http://web.arch.ox.ac.uk/archives/inventorium/home.php

This is exactly what I have been needing, and if

 hasn’t seen it yet, she’ll like it.  It not only combines the information from the original excavations (150-200yrs ago) with modern description and new photos, if the items are extant.    Now, I’ll never go to sleep.

One thing I love is that most pages on this database, list exactly how to cite the source.

Another research tool I’ve discovered a new use for lately is http://www.worldcat.org     It is a unified reference for library holdings, at least the ones big enough to post onto it.  It’s a great search tool for finding books for InterLibraryLoan (ILL).  You can search by author, title, ISBN, all that jazz.  But what is new to me, is the “cite this item” button.  Then it spits out the citation in half-a-dozen different formats, perfect for cut and paste, or more specialized programs, which I can’t access.  Perfect for helping person who is afraid of writing documentation, or the dyslexic laurel.

Save

