I was assigned a Huscarl scroll, for a late period Spanish persona. While I awaited the scroll text, I started my research. I discovered, to my delight, that the Carta Ejecutoria de Hidalguia would be perfect! Here was a period document type that was actually about recognizing the nobility and status of individuals. It had a standard style and format, that often, but not always, included a full illuminated panel. But it ALWAYS included penwork.

ds001890abThis was one of the most fun scrolls to work on – I love penwork. I didn’t love spilling the colored ink all over the scroll the day before the crown needed it. Thankfully, the spills were mostly on the outer edges, and covered up well. A few drops just got turned into new penwork squiggles.

This was a backlog scroll, for they had made him a Huscarl at Lilies, and TRM were about to step down. However, in the business of the day, getting a seal on the silk fingerlooped braid I had made didn’t happen. So after court, before feast, (and the recipient wasn’t staying for feast, so it was a rush job,) I was handed the box with sealing stuff, and told to have at it.

Never before had I sealed a scroll. As I looked for the right molds to shape the wax, I couldn’t find exactly what I needed. One was missing. So Xandre’s scroll has a Huscarl image on one side, and I believe, a Silver Hammer on the other, because the Kingdom symbol had been forgotten in a pocket that had already left site. It is fitting that Xandre now has a Silver Hammer by right as well.

xandre-documentationI included a mini documentation for him to take home.

Text was based on the granting of powers to C. Columbus by Ferdinand & Isabella of Spain, composed by Mistress Lyriel de la Foret. Calligraphy & illumination based on letters patent of nobility, by Lady Eleanor Deyeson. Additional exemplar was a Spanish copybook of calligraphic scripts, ca 1500-1535. Both manuscripts accessed on the Digital Scriptorium. First from University of California Berkley, mss. is UCB 032, and the other from Columbia University, New York, mss. is Plimpton MS 296.

Then I managed to chase down Xandre, who I hadn’t really met before. (I know, shocking.) And discovered he was roman. He loved the scroll anyway, even the bobble with the seal.

Done almost exclusively with Dr. Ph. Martin’s Radiant Concentrated Water Color (and they aren’t waterproof, which makes covering them with gouache very challenging.) I had gotten a small set of 6. The squeeze dropper makes it possible for you to just load your dip pen drop by drop, so you don’t end up wasting so much. [Or accidentally knocking the bottle over and spewing droplets everywhere, including your host’s carpet.] Paper was Arches Aquarelle, Hot Press, 140#.

Completed September 2007.

 

